Freewheelin’!

I promised a new post, and one reason I haven’t been posting is because I have been enjoying a birthday present from The Best Husband in the World! He spoiled me rotten for my birthday (and probably the next 6-7 birthday, Christmases, Valentine’s Days, Anniversaries, etc.).  He got me my dream bike.  If you have read my blog, you may have read about my little field trip to Bike Friday and how I fell in love with a New World Tourist, I picked my colors, and spec’d things out.  They had me at Lime Green cables!

My husband was trying to throw me off the scent with lots of different tricks, and he almost had me. When he took me outside to see what my birthday gift was (hiding in his car), and I saw that Bike Friday box, I was speechless, which, anyone who knows me doesn’t happen often!

So here she is! And yes, I decided she was a she.

And she folds up so nice and neat! I have a bag I will put her in, and she will go right in my little teardrop, Dottie!

The folks as Bike Friday have really made me something really special. I had to add a seat and pedals after she came.  The bike also didn’t come with fenders or a rear bike rack, but I took care of that on a trip to Eugene.  The guys at the shop are amazing and really go above and beyond. The got me all set up with all of the things I needed, plus, I found something while I was there that I couldn’t live without. They were quick to make the part on the spot and install it on my bike while I waited. My handle bars now stay attached when I fold the bike up as they are on a new hinge (the handle bars on the New World Tourist unattached and lay on top without this piece – you can see it in the picture below).

Eric installing my new handle bar hinge at the shop

The Showroom at Bike Friday

You want to know the very best thing? I took my son with me this time. He has been a bit skittish about getting on his pedal bike, and is still loving his balance bike (which is the best balance bike ever). After getting to roll around the parking lot on one of the smaller Bike Friday beta bikes (he couldn’t reach the pedals, but we held him up and helped him), he decided he wanted to try to ride his pedal bike. Wouldn’t you know it! He started riding a bike that weekend. Best trip to the bike shop ever! Thanks Bike Friday for inspiring my kid!

Now I need inspiration from my readers! I need suggestions on names for my blue girl. I am not super clever when it comes to that sort of thing, but she is begging for a name. Leave a suggestion in my comments section and the one I like best, will stick!

Oh, and if you are in the market for a folding bike, check out Bike Friday. They are pretty amazing!

2 responses to “Freewheelin’!

  1. Bike names: Bonnie Blue; Daisy

Leave a Reply

